January 14, 2020
Marijuana provides lots of health benefits. Medical researchers have found that cannabis’ cannabinoids possess amazing medicinal properties, which can help in relieving pain, anxiety, boosting sleep, memory, and mood.
Currently, medical marijuana is legal in 33 US states, allowing patients with specific conditions to access cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries. If you are an Oklahoman, you would definitely be thinking “is medical marijuana legal in Oklahoma.” The answer is yes. In 2018, the state legalized medical use of cannabis after the voters approved Oklahoma State Question 788.
In Oklahoma, the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) is responsible for overseeing the state’s medical cannabis program. Read on to learn more about the laws and regulations for medical users in the state.
Laws on Getting an MMJ Card
To access medical marijuana in Oklahoma, you need a written certificate from an Oklahoma board-certified physician. Unlike most cannabis legalized states, which require patients with specific conditions to access medical marijuana, Oklahoma doesn’t have any list of approved MMJ qualifying conditions. In the state, a physician may recommend marijuana for any illness they believe can be improved with medical cannabis treatment.
Some of the common conditions that qualify patients for an MMJ card are-
- Chronic Pain
- Anorexia & Bulimia
- Severe Nausea
- Cachexia & Wasting Syndrome
- Epilepsy & Other Seizure Disorders
- Muscle Spasms
- Crohn’s Disease
Medical Marijuana Consumption & Possession Limits
As per Oklahoma regulations, only approved patients & designated caregivers are allowed to access state-licensed dispensaries. Although the Oklahoma State Department of Health has not defined any purchase limits, patients can possess up to 3 ounces or 85.04 grams of dry flowers, up to 1 ounce (28.35 grams) of marijuana concentrates, and 72 ounces (2.04 grams) of edibles in public and 8 ounces (227 grams) at home. There will be a 7% sales tax on all cannabis purchases in the state.
Patients who are unable to access marijuana from dispensaries or monitor medical cannabis treatment themselves can designate caregivers. Only one caregiver is allowed for one patient. However, children younger than 18 are allowed to designate two caregivers.
Caregivers are required to submit the “Adult Patient Caregiver Designation Forms”, signed by their patients. If a parent/legal guardian is providing caregiver services, they need to submit the “Minor Patient Caregiver Designation Forms.” A caregiver license is valid up to the expiry date of the MMJ license of their patient.
Regulations For Out-of-State Patients
With an MMJ temporary adult patient license, an out-of-state patient with an MMJ license of their native state is allowed to buy, use and cultivate cannabis. However, for minor patients, the online applications require details about their parents and legal guardians. Remember, there are no caregiver licenses for temporary patients.
For a temporary license, the fees would be $100. Applicants are required to submit their out-of-state medical cannabis licenses in digital formats. It usually takes 14 days for the temporary license identification card process. The temporary licenses are valid for 30 days but can be extended up to the expiry date of the out-of-state licenses. A patient will be charged $100 for every renewal after 30 days.