Medical MarijuanaHere’s How to Get Your Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card

July 7, 2021by oklahoma0

In June 2018, Oklahoma passed Oklahoma State Question 788, and joined the list of states that allow cannabis use for medical purposes. Patients with MMJ cards can legally buy, use, possess, and cultivate cannabis.

Related- Is Marijuana Legal in Oklahoma? [Fully Explained]

In the state, recreational marijuana is illegal. So, you require a doctor’s recommendation to legally use cannabis.

But, how to get an Oklahoma medical marijuana card? Do you qualify for an MMJ card? What’s the process to apply for 420 evaluations? Let’s discuss in detail.

Qualifying for an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card

Marijuana is effective for pain, anxiety, PTSD, and many other medical illnesses. Thus, the herb can be used as an alternative to prescription medications.

Cannabis (in any form) remains illegal under federal law. It’s a schedule I drug with a high potential for abuse.

But, its medical use is legal in Oklahoma. The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) administers the state’s medical marijuana program. In other words, the OMMA issues licenses to patients and caregivers.

Do You Qualify For an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card?

As per Oklahoma law, there are  no qualifying conditions to get an MMJ card. Physicians can follow the same criteria as they would when recommending other drugs. In other words, you can get an MMJ card for any condition a physician believes is fit for cannabis treatment.

Individuals who are at least 18 years old can apply for their MMJ recommendations. However, they must be residents of the state and require the following documents-

  • Proof of Oklahoma residency
  • Proof of identity
  • A colored photograph

What About Minors?

Minors can also get medical marijuana cards in Oklahoma. However, they must have caregivers who must be registered by the state to buy cannabis.

Additionally, they must have physician recommendation forms dated within 30 days of their first physician recommendation forms.

In Oklahoma, a minor’s license is valid for up to 2 years from the date it was issued or until the patient turns 18.

The Complete Process to Apply For an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card

To get your Oklahoma medical marijuana card, you need to see a licensed doctor. The doctor will evaluate your medical condition and if you qualify, they will sign a recommendation letter for you.

You can find a wide range of medical marijuana doctors in Oklahoma. The doctors need not be registered with the OMMA. However, you should do comprehensive research to choose the best MMJ doctor.

Related- A Comprehensive Guide to Finding an MMJ Doctor Online

To apply for your medical marijuana card hassle-free, opt for telemedicine services. Here’s how to get an MMJ card online-

Submit Your Application Form Online

Visit Online Medical Card to sign up for your account. Enter your personal and medical details, and submit your application form online.

See a Doctor Online

One of the doctors will talk to you over HIPAA-compliant software. Have an open discussion related to your medical condition and cannabis treatment.

The doctor will ask you many questions, such as how long have you been using cannabis, what are the benefits you are getting, etc. Be honest and answer all the questions honestly.

Receive Your MMJ Letter Via Email

If the doctor approves you, they will send your medical marijuana recommendation letter in PDF format via email. You can download the digital letter and take a printout yourself.

After getting a doctor’s recommendation, you need to submit your application at the OMMA site. Usually, OMMA responds within two weeks. If your application meets all the requirements, they send your license via mail.

It’s important to note that you must submit your application to the OMMA site within 30 days of obtaining your doctor’s recommendation. 

An Oklahoma medical marijuana license is valid for 2 years and the patient must renew it within 30 days of its expiration.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, we suggest you see a doctor online whether you need a new card or MMJ renewal.

Medical Marijuana Laws in Oklahoma?

Like other cannabis legalized states, Oklahoma has its own regulations for medical users. Let’s discuss in detail.

Possession Limits & Home Cultivation Laws

Patients and caregivers registered with the OMMA can possess up to 3 ounces of usable marijuana, 8 ounces at home, 1 ounce of concentrates, and 72  ounces of edibles.

Possession of cannabis without a valid registry license will be considered as a misdemeanor.

Registered patients and caregivers can legally grow up to six mature cannabis plants and six seedlings. Cultivating your own marijuana plants allow you to produce high-quality cannabis and save money as well.

Public Consumption Laws

The Oklahoma law allows you to consume medical marijuana at home. However, consumption of cannabis in public places isn’t allowed.

Registered patients can drive with cannabis in their vehicles within the state boundaries.

However, you can’t drive under the influence of cannabis. It’s illegal to drive a vehicle if you have any detectable amount of THC in the blood, urine, or saliva.

Wrapping it up, to legally access medical marijuana, you must have a registry license issued by the OMMA. For that, you need to get a physician’s recommendation first and then submit your application on the OMMA site. If you meet all the requirements, they will send your license via mail. Use the license to legally buy cannabis products from any local dispensary.

Have any questions related to getting an Oklahoma medical marijuana card or the state regulations? Start a conversation in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *